Exam Views: 285

A national level qualifying exam is conducted by the Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE) called the National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) for the MBBS/BDS courses offered by colleges across the country.

The selection of candidates for about 353 medical seats and 297 dental seats offered by the colleges across the country will be done through the NEET examination.

Exam Name: National Eligibility cum Entrance Test for Undergraduate courses

Commonly known as: NEET UG 2014

Exam type: National

Exam Category: UG Exam

Conducting authority: Central Board of Secondary Education (CBSE)

The candidates applying for NEET exam must have passed higher secondary examination from a recognized Board. The candidates must have also studied Physics, Chemistry, Biology /Biotechnology and English as compulsory subjects in the higher secondary level. A minimum aggregate of not less than 50% marks in Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology (40% for SC/ST and 45% for differently abled) must be scored by the candidates in the board exams. 

The selection of the candidates for the MBBS/BDS seats will be done on the basis of the performance of the candidates in the NEET exam. 

The duration of the NEET exam will be 3 hours. The NEET exam question paper will consist of a total of 180 questions which will be from subjects like Physics, Chemistry and Biology. The candidates will be awarded 4 marks for every right answer and 1 mark will be deducted for every wrong answer.

The application form for the NEET exam will be available in online mode only. The candidates must visit the official website to obtain the application form. The candidates must make a payment of INR 1000 for the application fee (the application fee for the candidates belonging to the SC/ST/PH categories is INR 550).

Central Board of Secondary Education 
Shiksha Kendra, 2 - Community Centre, 
Preet Vihar, Delhi-110092 


011-22041807, 22041808, 1800118002