IAS Main

Exam Views: 571

Union Public Service Commission (UPSC) is granted as India’s Central Institution assigned to depart best Civil Services and Several Nationalized Services within best interface and qualitative approach. The agency’s contract has been assigned under the Constitution of India so as to provide Public Services on a broad platform. IAS or Indian Administrative Services is said to be one of the toughest examination and is totally organized under the guidelines of UPSC.

IAS Examination, or Indian Administrative Services Examination is considered as one of the most popular, competitive and difficult examination to crack and is totally designed under the observation of Indian Government. Following is a detailed look into the process.

Exam Name: Civil Services Main Exam

Commonly Called As: IAS Main (Indian Administrative Service)

Exam Level: National

Conducting Institute: Union Public Service Commission (UPSC)

Academic Qualification

·         Candidates applying must obtain a Bachelor’s Degree within the relevant discipline from any recognized institution.

·         Candidates waiting for the final year result or pursuing for the final exams are eligible to apply.

·         Accordingly, the criteria for the age limit and number of attempts has been changed with 2015. Minimum age limit is 21 years and extends till 30 years till Aug. 1 2015.

·         According to information published by Department of Administrative Reforms and Public Grievances, SC/ST Candidates will be provided an upper limit relaxation till 29 years, 28 years for OBC and 26 for the unreserved category. An additional 2 years will be added for PWD Candidates in each category.

·         Similarly, a total of six for SC/ST candidates, five for OBC and three for unreserved candidates has been limited as total attempts for IAS Main 2015.

·         Candidates who have acquired professional qualification in Technical criteria and medical (MBBS) under Governmental recognition are eligible to appear.


Candidates must be of Indian Nationality, or from one of them:

·         a citizen of India, or

·         a subject of Nepal, or

·         a subject of Bhutan, or

·         a Tibetan refugee who migrated to India before 1st January, 1962 with the intention of permanent settlement in India, or

·         a person of Indian source who has migrated from Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, East African countries of Kenya, Uganda, the United Republic of Tanzania, Zambia, Malawi, Zaire, Ethiopia and Vietnam with the intention of permanent settlement in India.

·         IAS Main 2015 applications can be filled online and offline.

·         If applying offline, application must be downloaded from the official website, all the information must be filled and the print out along with required documents and pay slip must be sent to the official address.

·         If applying online, candidates can contact the official website and fill up the form in two phases; registration part-I & part-II. Form must be filled and fees must be paid duly via SBI Challan. Form must be submitted and a printout must be taken for future use.

A total of Rs.200 must be paid via online mode (Debit/Credit/Net Banking/E-Challan) or offline via Cash Pay slip offered by SBI.

UPSC – IAS examination will be held in three different phases:

·         Phase 1: Preliminary Examination or CSAT (Objective Section)

·         Phase 2: Main Examination (Subjective Section)

·         Phase 3: Interview (Vocal Section)

Phase 2: Main Examination Syllabus (1750 Marks):

This level is created so as to construct a candidate’s academic and rational talent in detail. It comprises of total 9 papers in which 2 are said to be qualifying papers of 300 marks each. The papers included are:

·         Any Indian Language

·         English

These two papers are mandatory to qualify and secured marks will not be counted and candidates are free to choose any language recognized from Indian Constitution including English. 7 papers are mentioned below comprising of 250 marks each:

·         Essay

·         General Studies 1 (Indian Heritage/Culture, World History & Geography)

·         General Studies 2 (Governance, Constitution, Polity, Social Justice and International Relations)

·         General Studies 3 (Technology, Economic Development, Bio-Diversity, Environment, Security & Disaster Management)

·         General Studies 4 (Ethics, Integrity & Aptitude)

·         Optional 1 (Of your choice)

·         Optional 2 (Of your choice)

Following are the optional subjects from which you can choose according to your preference:

        I.            Agriculture

      II.            Animal Husbandry and Veterinary Science

    III.            Botany

    IV.            Chemistry

      V.            Civil Engineering

    VI.            Commerce

  VII.            Economics

VIII.            Electrical Engineering

    IX.            Geography

      X.            Geology

    XI.            Indian History

  XII.            Law

XIII.            Management

XIV.            Mathematics

  XV.            Mechanical Engineering

XVI.            Medical Science

XVII.            Philosophy

XVIII.            Physics

XIX.            Political Science

  XX.            Psychology

XXI.            Public Administration

XXII.            Sociology

XXIII.            Statistics

XXIV.            Zoology

XXV.            Anthropology

XXVI.            Assamese

XXVII.            Bengali

XXVIII.            Chinese

XXIX.            English

XXX.            French

XXXI.            German

XXXII.            Gujarati

XXXIII.            Hindi

XXXIV.            Kannada

XXXV.            Kashmiri

XXXVI.            Konkani

XXXVII.            Malayalam

XXXVIII.            Manipuri

XXXIX.            Marathi

   XL.            Nepali

 XLI.            Oriya

XLII.            Punjabi

XLIII.            Russian

XLIV.            Sanskrit

XLV.            Sindhi

XLVI.            Tamil

XLVII.            Telugu

XLVIII.            Urdu

Candidates who have passed the IAS Main will be called up for interview, and based on the integrated performance will be selected.


  1. avatar
    Srikanth asks